top of page

Silverton Lodge

Rarkang Rd, Cape Jervis

State Heritage Place No 14060.

The Talisker Silver Lead Mine was established in 1862, and greatly expanded in 1864. In February of that year the township of Silverton was surveyed in order to provide homes for the miners working at the mine. In 1866 the township was enlarged by the addition of extra allotments to the north of the original township. This new part of the township was called Silverton Extended.

By June 1872, when the mine closed, Silverton could boast of shops, an eating house, hotel, post office, general store, bank, day school and night school, and an Institute. The stone cottage called 'Silverton Lodge' is on lot 3 of the original part of the township, not far from the hotel (on lot 1), and is the sole surviving building from that time. It is thought to have been a store and post office. It was confirmed as a State Heritage Place on 27 September 1990.

This site is on private property.

YDHS resources relating to this place 

2 photographs
6 documents

Silverton Lodge

Resources last updated June 2024

To access photos and records contact the Society. 

Yankalilla & District Historical Society supports the cultural, spiritual, ecological and economic regeneration of the Aboriginal peoples of this place assisted by the actions and power of individuals, organisations and governments.

  • Facebook

© YDHS 2022—2025

Initial site design

 Word Tasker 2022

Contact Us

 yank.hist.soc@gmail.com 

PO Box 421, Yankalilla 5203

bottom of page